|Effective May 1st 2009 we took over
burn permits from the City. You will be
able to contact us @ 727-5844 between
0800 and 1700 any day to have us come
out and issue a permit. We will only be
issuing permits within the City of
Lansing limits. All other permits will still
be issued through the Sheriff's Office.
They can be reached @ 682-5724 or
online at LVCO Sherriff Office
Of Leavenworth County Kansas
PERMIT TO BURN
Pursuant to the provisions of Chapter 7, Article 3 Code of the City of Lansing, current KDHE
Regulations and the conditions set forth in this permit, the Fire Chief or designee, hereby
grants________________________ (Hereinafter referred to as "Permit Holder") permission
to burn at ______________________ Lansing, KS, on the following date(s):
___________________________. Will this be an evening burn? __________
The permit holder agrees to conduct the permitted burning in accordance with Chapter 7, Article 3 of
the City of Lansing City Code, and current KDHE regulations. Fires will be attended at all times, by
permit holder or his designee.
The permit is void if on the day(s) authorized burning the wind is in excess of 20 mph. All burning is
to be extinguished by 7:00 p.m. or sunset, whichever occurs first. Fire shall not be started before
sunrise. This permit does not extend to the burning of tires,asphalt,roofing materials,"contaminated"
wood, leaves or any material that produces black smoke. If this is for an evening burn, there will be
an adult (over 21 years old) with the fire at all times.
Permit Holder Fire District 1
Daytime phone number Driver License Number
Conditions of Permit
On the second and third day of permit, the holder must call the fire station at 727-
5844 after 7:30 A.M. to ascertain if burning has been banned for that day.
The permission granted herein to burn is limited to the private property of the permit holder. No burning of any kind is authorized on
any street or alleyway in the City of Lansing, Kansas. The permit holder assumes all responsibility for the setting and tending of
any fire specified, and expressly relieves Leavenworth County Fire District 1 and the City of Lansing, Kansas of any and all liability
arising out of, under or in condition with such approved burning. Furthermore, the permit holder agrees to hold harmless
Leavenworth County Fire District 1 and the City of Lansing, Kansas, their respective agents, instrumentalities or employees,
against all suits, actions, claims cost and demands (including without limitation,suits actions,claims cost and demands for injury or
property damage) to which Leavenworth County Fire District 1 and the City of Lansing, Kansas their respective agents
instrumentalities or employees may be subject by reasons of damage or injury resulting or alleged to have arisen or resulted from
the insurance of this permit.
Penalty: A. Any person who shall violate any of the provisions of this code or the standards hereby adopted, or shall violate or fail
to comply with any order made hereunder, or shall build in violation of any detailed statement of the specifications or plans
submitted and approved hereunder, and from which no appeal has been taken within the specified time, shall severally for each
and every violation and noncompliance, be quilty of a misdemeanor, punishable by a fine of not less than $500.00 nor more than
$1000.00 or by imprisonment of not more than 180 (one hundred eighty) days or both such fine and imprisonment. A seperate
offense shall be deemed committed on each and every day of which said violation is permitted to exist. The imposition of one
penalty for any violation shall not excuse the violation or permit to continue.
B: The application of the above penalty shall not be held to prohibit the enforced removal or abatement of said violations.
IN CASE OF EMERGENCY, CALL 9-1-1
|TO SERVE WITH